Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) is a unified cybersecurity standard required for contractors and subcontractors working with the Department of Defense (DoD) and consists of five levels requiring an independent third-party certification by an accredited organization. Cybersecurity Manager Lizzie Tinker is certified as one of the first Provisional Assessors nationwide for CMMC and Elliott Davis is a candidate for Certified Third-Party Assessor Organization (C3PAO) by the CMMC Accreditation Body.

Now is the time for businesses to assess and prepare. Starting this year the DoD will begin including the CMMC certification as a requirement in some request for proposals (RFP) and all contracts will require the certification by 2026.

Elliott Davis CMMC Services

  • CMMC Readiness
  • Maturing from one CMMC level to the next
  • Gap analysis
  • Control Selection and Tailoring
  • Control Implementation guidance
  • Develop System Security Plan (SSP)
  • Develop Plan of Action and Milestones (POA&Ms)
  • Audit ready artifacts


The CMMC model was derived from cybersecurity best practices from various cybersecurity standards and frameworks. To quantify compliance and program adoption of these processes and practices, the CMMC includes a certification process that measures maturity over five levels. The levels are cumulative, so for an organization to achieve a specific CMMC level it also must have achieved the preceding levels below it. The DoD will specify the required CMMC level in Requests For Information (RFIs) and Requests for Proposals (RFPs)

CMMC: Navigating the Complexities

In this 18-minute video, hear from our Elliott Davis CMMC professionals about the varying levels of required compliance, steps to prepare your business, and how to set up a complimentary consultation.

Register below to watch now.

Related News